Hard Choices – Midlife Crisis Edition

Remember my last list of hard choices? Well, due to an “unexpected” purchase, I’ve decided to take the new bedframe off the list. I’m also down-sizing smartphone expectations.

1)  Trip to Europe – $2,000 to 2,300? Mid-life crisis. I can justify this but at the same time, I know it’s a bit crazy to travel to Europe by myself.

2) Replace Car #1- $25,000+? This would replace Car #1 which needs some costly repairs. We’re not sure it’s worth it.

3) Swim Lessons – $300 to $500? We need private lessons for special needs kiddos. $39 per lesson — yikes — but I’m shopping around.

4) NEW! Smartphones – $650 (?) for two. UPDATE: I think I’d rather pay closer to $100 and no more than $150 for a phone. Smartphone prices are crazy!

5) NEW! Lawyer – $5,000 –  This is a wild guess. I assume a first-time  consultation is free but we would need time/expertise to create a special needs trust and wills.

6) Apple software program – I’m leaving this at #5 because I can’t ask my husband to stick to a budget now that my trip is pending.

7) Car #2  We spent $584.85 in 2015 for repairs.  More repairs anticipated.

8) Foam mattress  UPDATE: $600-700  – I looked into reader suggestions and have discovered a lot of quality mattresses that cost much less than the $2,000 I had anticipated.

9) NEW! Bed frame – $550 – DELETED

In terms of justification, it’s easy to mentally subtract the $550 from the $2,000 trip and convince myself that the trip is ‘only’ an extra $1,450 in terms of planned spending. BUT I think that’s a bit of a cheat.

I may post more information. Or I may take this post down at some point. I thought I was immune to mid-life crisis type purchases. Oh well….

Advice? Have you ever splurged due to a mid-life crisis (or quarter life crisis)? Do you know anyone who has? 

Mid-life crisis image from The Other Side of the Equation.

 

12 thoughts on “Hard Choices – Midlife Crisis Edition

  1. I’m sure plenty of people have but I don’t call it that because what do I know about their lives?

    Is this something you need or want to refresh your soul? Honestly I think a solo trip to anywhere including Europe, if you can swing it financially, is pretty awesome when you consider how much of you gets dedicated to taking care of others.

    Like

    • Definitely a want. We can swing it if we don’t get a rent increase. BUT It doesn’t look like my employer is giving any raises this year, while medical costs keep going up.

      Like

  2. If you don’t have a will/trust set up, that should be a high priority. It’s important with kids to specify who gets them in the event of both parents dying.

    If you’re not doing the special needs trust, I think you’re more in the $500 range. It probably won’t be 5K even with a trust.

    Like

      • Don’t know how old/independent your kids are, but have you looked into pooled trusts? That would only solve the problem or part of it… The actual day to day care would still be a concern, I imagine.

        Like

      • Yeah, I feel like I’d have to really trust the non profit, but it was something suggested to me at one point. Our situation is a little different in that we know who could manage the money, we’re just not sure who could manage the day to day. It can be intense.

        Like

  3. Ouch is right! I know I won’t regret it in the long run but I have to be careful not to make it a habit to spend $ due to a mid-life crisis mentality. Next thing you know, I’ll justify plastic surgery, a sports car or something.

    Like

  4. Okay, I just about died when I read that article. “When they die, narcissism will be so much lonelier.”

    Don’t be embarrassed about doing something you want to do. If giving up a bed frame and making a couple other sacrifices is worth going to Europe for you, do it. (Side note, I’d totally give up a bed frame to go on a trip, too.) You’re responsible enough to know how to handle your finances. You don’t need to be ashamed of your priorities.

    I know it’s over played, but personal finance is personal. Have a fantastic time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

