Review: What The Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast

What The Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast” is a best-selling e-book by author and productivity expert Laura Vanderkam.  I read her blog on a regular basis so I’m not sure why it took me so long to finally read this one.

Well, I guess I do know why… I knew that the definition of “success” would be fairly narrow in this book.  While there might be a few exceptions, success is defined mostly by career success.  The people profiled are all similar —  high-powered executives who are well-off and career-driven. However, even if you’re not in the corner office (or any office) and don’t aspire to that level of success, the book is worth reading and has advice/tips that are applicable to everybody.

bookcoverI felt that the book gives equal weight to three major areas: 1) personal/relationships/spiritual, 2) physical and 3) career/growth. In other words, successful people do not only spend their mornings reading business journals or doing work-related tasks. Many use that time to spend time with family, exercise, or meditate/pray.

After reading this quick e-book, I examined my morning routine.  I get up around 6 a.m., shower, get ready for work and spend time with my kids before leaving the house around 7:15-7:30 am. Getting kids ready for school can be hectic but I must say that overall I enjoy those early morning hours. Without knowing it, I was using that time as family time.

However, I realized that I could do more with my mornings.  As of this writing, I’m committing to three mornings of 30 minute exercise (walking and/or running at a nearby park).  If I plan ahead and take a quicker shower, I only have to get up 20 minutes earlier than usual.  Call me crazy but I’m excited about this plan. It’s making valuable use of my time and doesn’t make me take two showers a day, which is not cool in drought-ridden California.

Even if I don’t manage to make exercising a habit, I have to credit this book for inspiring me to try. Go read it for yourself and get inspired!

Leave a Reply

