A Week In The Life Of Special Needs Parenting

Every week, my spouse and I face a mountain-load of paperwork related to managing a special-needs household.  Below is a sampling.


Monday

Spouse handles medical appointment for one kid.

I schedule extra service hours for this Wednesday.

Tuesday

I take a day off from work.

I attend 3-hour parent training seminar required by Regional Center

I pick up dental referral form for one kid

I email back and forth with Service Provider re; insurance denial for one of kid’s services

Spouse and I participate in a therapy session with kid.

I fix a mistake that I made earlier in one of our service provider’s schedule.

Spouse sends in medical supply order and questions to service provider

Wednesday

Spouse brings kid to hospital for check-up.

I research and complete paperwork for a government program.  I hope I get all the necessary forms!

I call Insurance about a denied claim.  Hear a message saying they’re too busy and to call back another day. Search for most recent approval paperwork!

Spouse completes paperwork for IHSS.

I discuss upcoming vacation time with a therapist.

I notice a possible error in schedule for next week and note to bring this up with provider.

I print and save copies of lab results for one kid.

Thursday

Spouse discusses parent training schedule with consultant

I TRY to submit information online for a government program. I get an error message and contact the agency for help. I would have submitted the old-fashioned way but I cannot find a paper application anywhere on their site.  During this research, I also notice that there are a few additional supporting documentation on their site that were not required in the online application.

I email important documents to kid’s doctor for his signature.

I email insurance about the denied claim.

I call provider about services that is supposed to start for one of my sons in April.

Friday

I email Regional Center about services that is supposed to start for one of my sons in April.

Weekend

We realize that we have 3 special needs related meetings next week.

Add stuff to the To-Do List:

  • Get ready for IEP by reviewing progress reports and decide strategy.
  • Get paperwork ready for foundation meeting.
  • Set a schedule for weekly parent training for both of us
  • Email provider about not being happy with one of the therapists.
  • Find out if one of our recent appointments qualify for a claim with AFLAC.
  • Note to self: Research if we should continue paying for AFLAC insurance.
  • Must follow-up (again) with IHSS
  • Must follow up with kid’s doctor about completing form.

Some weeks are definitely more hectic than others.  It was a fairly slow week at work so I was able to tackle multiple projects.  Many times, I’m just too busy at work to do much else. Unfortunately, it’s not uncommon for it to take-up 2-3 weeks for me to follow-up.

All of the above must be taken care of while we manage a household with two young kids, freelance career and a full-time job! We could not do this without local family support (thanks Mom!)

Leave a Reply

